FL3: Focusing on Early Accessible Language

Hands & Voices' Family Leadership in Language and Learning (FL3) goal is to ensure EHDI programs, supported by federal funding in the United States, use research-based concepts known to support families, parents, and caregivers of deaf or hard of hearing infants, toddlers, and young children identified through newborn hearing screening. We want what you want: for "our children" to reach optimal language, literacy, and social-emotional development.

PARTICIPATE IN THIS FIRST-EVER, FOUR-DAY, FREE ONLINE EXPERIENCE

Participate from the comfort of your home at your own pace and on your own schedule.

  • View 3 learning videos any time between March 10-13, 2019
  • Meet and interact online with other family members who also have a child who is deaf or hard of hearing
  • Join a live Q&A session with presenters and family members on March 13 at 6:30 PM (ET)/5:30 PM (CT)/4:30 PM (MT)/3:30 PM (PT)

LEARN FROM AND INTERACT WITH

  • Early language acquisition experts from the Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center, a national center that provides resources to families and professionals to support raising a deaf or hard of hearing child
  • Experienced parent leaders from the family-based organization Hands & Voices in conjunction with FL3
  • Linguistic and language experts from Gallaudet University, the only liberal arts university in the world specifically for deaf and hard of hearing students

LEARN ABOUT

  • Considerations for accessing and acquiring spoken English
  • How American Sign Language can provide visual access to a full language that can benefit all babies regardless of their hearing ability
  • What language access means for your child and family

Click Here to Register

The Clerc Center, in a partnership effort with Hands & Voices, is hosting this FL3 online learning community event.

Clerc Center logoHV Logo

This site was supported by federal funding. Publication of this material shall not imply approval or acceptance by the U.S. Department of Education of the findings, conclusions, or recommendations herein. Gallaudet University is an equal opportunity employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin, religion, age, hearing status, disability, covered veteran status, marital status, personal appearance, sexual orientation, family responsibilities, matriculation, political affiliation, source of income, place of business or residence, pregnancy, childbirth, or any other unlawful basis.